Local Marketing Summit banner  below header new

User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    https://plus.google.com/108773320148...ut?gl=us&hl=en

    So I just moved locations, and changed it in the dashboard. Going by the guidelines, I entered in

    Line 1 - Street Address
    Line 2 - Suite XXX
    Line 3 - City, State Zip

    Google changes this to:

    1901 1st Avenue #196
    San Diego, CA 92101

    Should I just run with this? Not worry about it and change my citations etc.?

    On top of all that, when I search for myself, Google will display the new address, but pin it at the old one, 15 miles away. This just has to work itself out or should I contact Google?

  2. GradeUs in thread
  3. #2
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks (Received)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Hi Joseph,

    My advice for your first question is to not worry too much about the formatting Google is displaying your address, as long as it's accurate. Just be as consistent as you can possibly be with the way you enter your NAP across the web and you should be fine.

    ---------- Post Merged at 02:23 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 02:22 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Dang View Post
    On top of all that, when I search for myself, Google will display the new address, but pin it at the old one, 15 miles away. This just has to work itself out or should I contact Google?
    How long ago did you make the edit?
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  4. #3
    Member Since
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Thanks Colan! So are you suggesting I just go ahead and copy Google's formatting to be safe? I don't mind. I just don't want to do that, then find out Google reverts the address to the way it was entered/preferred

    I can go ahead and match their formatting.

  5. #4
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks (Received)
    44
    Likes (Received)
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Dang View Post
    So are you suggesting I just go ahead and copy Google's formatting to be safe?
    No, not at all. Just use the formatting that you use on your website and be consistent. Google will often change the formatting and third party directories have their own formatting as well.

    Phil Rozek painted an excellent picture on one of his posts. I'll try and paraphrase. All you can do is feed Google consistent data, how Google decides to chew it and spit it out is out of our control, so don't worry about it.
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  6. #5
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    14,620
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    195
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Colan is right.

    Plus she SEES what's in your dash. She knows the address you entered inside, even if she chooses to display it differently.

    Just like she SEEs and ranks you in part based on your website title tag, but then re-writes it and shows something different in search.

    AND like she knows all your cats and you can rank for them, even if she only displays one on your listing.
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  7. #6
    Member Since
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Excellent. Thanks!

  8. #7
    Member Since
    Aug 2013
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    85
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    I have something similar where Google strips out the suite number no matter where I put it. How do I stop Google from stripping out the suite number?

  9. #8
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    14,620
    Thanks (Received)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    195
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    I'm having this problem too and reported to Jade. Thought it was just this one listing because Suite is 400-B

    I kept putting on line 2 and G+ interface would move to line one and changed to #400, no suite and no B. And suite on line 1 is a violation.

    Sometimes it would strip the B and sometimes it would just leave out the suite like in your case. I've tried like 8 times now all different ways and formats and nothing will stick. After 5 minutes it either deletes suite or moves to line one and changes it to #400 (no B). In my case it's happening in G+.

    I'll let her know it's a bug and not just on that one listing.

    CAN YOU TELL ME... are you working in the G+ interface, old Places dash or new Places dash?

    Also Louis are you saying Suite is still in dash, just not showing live?
    Or are you saying it strips it out of dash? And again if so, which dash?
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  10. #9
    Member Since
    Aug 2013
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    85
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    Quote Originally Posted by Linda Buquet View Post
    I'm having this problem too and reported to Jade. Thought it was just this one listing because Suite is 400-B

    I kept putting on line 2 and G+ interface would move to line one and changed to #400, no suite and no B. And suite on line 1 is a violation.

    Sometimes it would strip the B and sometimes it would just leave out the suite like in your case. I've tried like 8 times now all different ways and formats and nothing will stick. After 5 minutes it either deletes suite or moves to line one and changes it to #400 (no B). In my case it's happening in G+.

    I'll let her know it's a bug and not just on that one listing.

    CAN YOU TELL ME... are you working in the G+ interface, old Places dash or new Places dash?

    Also Louis are you saying Suite is still in dash, just not showing live?
    Or are you saying it strips it out of dash? And again if so, which dash?
    New Dash G+ and it strips it out completely from the dashboard and the live listing. It happened for this particular listing around May 2013 when the dashboard upgraded itself. This business used to have a knowledge graph back then as well and once the suite number could no longer be included everything with their Google visibility went screwy.

  11. #10
    Member Since
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    94
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I enter suite in the second line, Google changes to # in the first line

    I have the same issue in the new dash. I input the following:

    Line 1: 14 Hughes
    Line 2: Suite B102

    It is changed to:
    Line 1: 14 Hughes b102
    Line 2:

    This is in the new dash. Any help would be great!

    Cheers.

Similar Threads

  1. Suspended for STE in Address Line 2
    By LeslyLaslo in forum NAP, Categories, Dashboard Data
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-14-2014, 08:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Local Marketing Summit banner above footer new