Local Marketing Summit banner  below header new
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    130
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Question Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    Hi,

    What is the best option to get a listing that is claimed/verified deleted when there are duplicate listings within the same dashboard?

    When I choose to 'delete page' I get a message saying (in part):

    "If you claimed a listing for this page, any edits you made will be lost. If you created a listing, it will be deleted."
    Then, when I click the 'Delete Page' button again on that pop up screen another screen appears which says (in part):

    I understand that I will no longer manage the content for the Google+ Local page _____ _____ or the Google Places listing _____ _____, but that this content may still appear on Google Maps, Google+ Local, Google Search, and elsewhere on Google.

    Deleting _____ _____ will also delete the Google Account that's associated with it...

    Questions:

    1. If I choose this deletion option, will the entire Google Account actually be deleted? I need that dashboard to manage the proper listing that is claimed in the account.

    2. Is there a better way to go about deleting the listing so that it the content would not "...still appear on Google Maps, Google+ Local"?

    - - -

    In searching support, I see the option to 'Contact Us' on this page: https://support.google.com/places/answer/154102

    Where you could choose the following to get to a form to email support:
    My listing has incorrect information.
    There is a duplicate listing that I would like to have removed.


    I can't seem to find an option to call phone support at the moment.

  2. Local Marketing Summit banner in thread
  3. #2
    Member Since
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Re: Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    Hey, I just barely had an account similar to this.

    After it says "Deleting _____ _____ will also delete the Google Account that's associated with it.." It should follow up with an email that goes something along the lines of "businessname.1234@places.plusgoogle.com" (I believe that is the Google account that it's referring to being deleted)

    Anyways, I was able to delete the extra listing from the account, and it hasn't had an impact on the other listing/parts of the account, so it seems safe to remove it this way.

    Not sure why you're not getting the phone option to come up, but if that's not working, one of your best bets is to follow the instructions here and report the other listing(s): https://support.google.com/places/answer/183009

  4. #3
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    15,618
    Thanks (Received)
    151
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Re: Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    Let's go one at a time.

    "Delete page" that sounds like you are in the Google+ business page dashboard, not Places dash. Can you confirm which dash you are in?

    I don't think there is phone support in the G+ dash either so that's why you can't find it.

    You should be in Places dash for all of this.
    But I need to know if you have old or new dash?
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  5. #4
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    130
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    @Linda,

    Interesting, I didn't realize there were multiple dashboards until the other day.

    I couldn't figure out why one day my (new) dashboard looked one way and another day my (new) dashboard looked another way. Then I went directly to https://www.google.com/local/business/ and found the 'real' G+ Local dashboard.

    I see slightly different wording in a help page https://support.google.com/business/answer/3038510 which helps to clarify the situation:

    "Note that Google may continue to show businesses that have been removed from your account on Google Maps, Search, and other Google properties as closed, moved, or open, depending on the information we've received about the business."
    Shall I go ahead and choose the G+ Local dashboard deletion method (via the 'gear' drop down menu) for this doubled up listing in my dashboard?

    Name:  screen-shot_11 2013-11-26 09.37.21.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  9.2 KB

    @Matthew

    Yeah, I also saw the odd email address in the format you provided: businessname.1234@places.plusgoogle.com ... I now assume, as well, that the Google account that gets deleted is that virtual account associated with the email address that they display.


    Russ

  6. #5
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    130
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    Update...

    So when I choose to remove the 'listing' ... I get a screen that asks "Are you sure you want to remove this listing from your account?"

    Name:  screen-shot_12 2013-11-26 09.40.49.jpg
Views: 373
Size:  44.1 KB

    Then I get this confirmation page that mentions 'page', 'listing' and 'account'. What I find odd is that in my case the email address for the Google Account shows @pages.plusgoogle.com instead of @places.plusgoogle.com... perhaps that is due to how the listing/page was initially created by a user?!

    Name:  screen-shot_14 2013-11-26 09.46.40.jpg
Views: 154
Size:  103.8 KB

    Russ

  7. #6
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    15,618
    Thanks (Received)
    151
    Likes (Received)
    160

    Re: Delete A Duplicate (Claimed) Listing From New Dashboard?

    I can't follow it all as far as how it was created and which stated its in.

    But IF as it sounds somehow the G+ page was merged/verified or auto-upgraded by Google to a G+ page then yes, deleting the Place page can delete everything. BUT it may not and may just be Google's screwed up messaging.

    I'd call support. Now that you found the right Places dash you can find the call us button.
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

Similar Threads

  1. Google Won't Delete Duplicate So What Should I Do?
    By Travis Van Slooten in forum Help & Support for Google Local
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-15-2014, 06:39 PM
  2. Should I delete and start over? Showing old places dashboard, but have new Google +
    By bradleymarones in forum Help & Support for Google Local
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-09-2013, 02:15 PM
  3. How to Delete Your Google Places for Business Dashboard Listing in One Easy Step (Or
    By Local Search News Curator in forum Google Local IMPORTANT
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-16-2013, 03:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Local Marketing Summit banner above footer new