More threads by Chris McCreery

Reaction score
I think I already know the answer to the following but wanted a second opinion.
When selecting categories for a law firm:

Attorney = Is actually a Law Firm
Lawyer = this would be for the individual lawyer

Hi Chris, to me and I think to Google too they are synonyms. Do a search for city attorney and she'll bold lawyer and vice versa. A man with a law degree will say "I am an attorney" or he'll say lawyer, either one.

Most practice listings usually have both core keywords in there, with some more specific cats like Bankruptcy Attorney or Criminal Justice Attorney based on the type of practice.

Strange, the other day when I selected the category it let me choose Personal Injury Attorney (auto-populated that category) and today when I checked I notice that's no longer an option. It now only has Personal Injury Lawyer.

---------- Post Merged at 11:53 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 11:48 PM ----------

Ok I just selected various categories all said Personal Injury Lawyer, Insurance Lawyer, etc. Once I hit save and returned to look at the listing it has converted them all to Personal Injury Attorney, Insurance Attorney, etc. If I attempt to edit the categories again and type in anything with Attorney it gives me an error "We didn't understand the category"

Here is a screenshot after I entered Personal Injury Lawyer and it said it was a duplicate.

http://screencast.com/t/5XJwxoJnj

"I entered Personal Injury Lawyer and it said it was a duplicate"

Yes it's a synonym for Personal Injury Attorney, which you already had.

According to Blumenthal's category tool, looks like Google wants Atty for all the specific cats.

Not sure why you are getting all the "We didn't understand the category" warnings. Remove Personal Injury Lawyer which is not a default and I think those warnings might go away.