More threads by Carleton Wilkins

Reaction score
With a few of our clients we have added Yelp icons along with all of their other social media (which all link to the associated pages of course), but I have just read a post that says you should not be linking to Yelp, is this true? I never thought/knew that it could be looked at negatively to just have a Yelp icon on a site.

A Review Handout Alternative: Try P&P To Get More Local Reviews

Here is the snippet where he says it: "It?s important to note: You shouldn?t link directly to your Yelp page. It?s against the Terms of Service for Yelp for businesses to ask for reviews, so a link to your page could get you into hot water. Instead, if you want to push for Yelp reviews, just show the Yelp logo (and don?t link it) along with some text that says something like ?find us on Yelp.? "

Thanks for any help or tips :)

Hi Carleton, that jumped out at me too but I'm no Yelp expert.

Greg seems to know what he's talking about though. Have you looked at the Yelp TOS?

Taken directly from Yelp's Support Center:

How, then, can I get more reviews on Yelp?There are ways to let your customers know you're on Yelp without being overly solicitous. There is an important distinction between "Hey, write a review about me on Yelp," [BAD] and "Hey, check us out on Yelp!" [GOOD]. It's the difference between actively pursuing testimonials and simply creating awareness of your business through social media outlets.
The latter allows consumers to review your online reputation without feeling like they're being forced to write a review. To an established Yelp community member, a reminder of your Yelp presence can act like a dog-whistle prompting them to share their feedback about your business with fellow Yelpers.
Here are some ways to remind customers that you're on Yelp without being pushy: