Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    16
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Hey Guys,

    Been having an issue with this for a while and was hoping somebody from outside the US might have the answer, the problem is this.

    I want to set my chrome browser to the local area in the US where my clients are however because im from outside the US it wont allow me, even when I use a VPN/proxy it still sees me as being in the UK and im getting different results here than people who are actually local in that area.

    So my Question is this, has anybody figured out a work around and what was the process to be able to achieve it all I need to do really is make Google chrome think im in the US, but its a lot harder than I thought!

  2. #2
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,063
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    50

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Thanks for copying your Q out here. I don't know the answer, but hope someone can help.
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  3. #3
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    140
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Use Firefox with foxyproxy and a good proxy provider with location specific Google proxies.

    Chrome in many cases as quite different results when comparing to other users because of the extra data it stores and collects etc.

    Also be sure to visit google.com and not google.co.uk

  4. #4
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,857
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Adding &gl=us to the end of the search string URL will do the trick as well.
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  5. #5
    Member Since
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lucan
    Posts
    232
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Does that let you set the city in the US?
    Hurricane K8
    Leavens Auto Group (London, Orillia, Chatham - Ontario,Canada)

  6. #6
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,857
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    No, that sets the location to the US, but not a specific city.
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  7. #7
    Member Since
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    16
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Thanks guys ill play around with this today,

    So are we saying that we cant set a city if we are outside the US?

  8. #8
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,857
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Not unless you use one of Brolands suggestions about using a proxy.
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  9. #9
    Member Since
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Huddersfield
    Posts
    16
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    Ok great ill take a look today thanks,

    So whats your view Colan, your in Canada right? what do you do? if your using your method does that mean the results you get back are a bit Skewed compared to being able to set the local area?

  10. #10
    Member Since
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    12
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Question for anyone who has US clients but is outside the US

    If none of those options work I would recommend getting a US based VPS that you can remote into. This would allow all applications to connect to the internet using a US IP address. The VPS would have an IP address in whichever city the machine is setup in.

    Also there are many proxy providers which allow you to select the city of your preference, although the sections are somewhat limited. You are most likely to find proxies in the top 100 US cities, but not too many in smaller cities.

Similar Threads

  1. Help Me to Help You! - What Can Your Clients Do to Help You Do Your Job?
    By Colan Nielsen in forum Consultant's Corner
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-21-2014, 09:38 AM
  2. Need Help With A Few Clients
    By vibhugauba in forum Google Local
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2014, 09:25 AM
  3. Bright Local Question or Local Search Fourm Question
    By Goku770 in forum Local SEO & Ranking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2014, 10:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •