More threads by Electrician

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am an electrician based in the UK. Until recentley my buisness was top of the search area for my area on google maps (for 2 years). I was always "A" and got alot of my business from there.

However one day (3weeks ago) it disappeared from the map completely. I logged into my dashboard to find. .."currently do not support location" which I'd had before. On previous occasions I'd just tweeked bits in my places page and it would cone back on.

However this time it has stayed off. I contacted Google support and they told me that because I go to customers homes etc that I must hide my business address from
The google places page and this was the reason it is down.

However when I do this my balloon just goes into the centre of my working radius some 10miles away from my business location. This means I no longer come up top for my local l are and my customers cant see my address, which I think gives them more trust in a company. All my other competitors are still listed with their full addresses and are service area business's just like me.

I'm still not back on the maps at all.

Google support are offering no help. If my listing is down then why arent any of my competitors.

I havent had work in over 2weeks.

Whats going on?

I dont want it to look asif i am based 10miles away from my actual location!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi there, I moved your post to the Service Area Business Issue section. Lots of great info on your issue in this section.

Bottom line, if you are a Service Area Business, you MUST hide your address. From all the examples I've seen, hiding your address shouldn't negatively impact your ranking,

As far as your competitors not hiding their address, if they are a SAB as well, it's only a matter of time before they are noticed by a Map Maker RER or somebody in India and their listings are deleted.

Playing by the rules is the only sustainable way to exist in Google's world.