More threads by standenman

standenman

Banned
Reaction score
I am a small business owner - an attorney in Dallas. Several years ago I began paying attention to the "talking heads" in local search/Google Places, noting with some optimism that my competitors were not. So I followed the advice of Mike Blumenthall, Linda B., and the crew: claimed Google Places account, completed it to 100% and solicited quality reviews from client.

I have been rewarded with continual dups, confusion, inaccurate information, and unresponsiveness from Google. My quality review have fled to Mexico.

This is not a problem of several months - this is a problem of several years. I am going to be completely honest here. The bulk of my ire is reserved to Google Places. While the Google Places community lauded Vanesssa for her leadership, she directly blamed me for my problems, and accused me of "sassing her" for daring to suggest (correctly) that she was failing to respond to my problem. Since her departure my problems remain. If you want to suck up to Google Places, OK. But don't deceive business owners into thinking they are responsive.

I would like to suggest ever so delicately that those of you in the google Places community suggesting that people spend valuable time fleshing out their Google Places account, are doing your clients a GREAT disservice. You are in a position to know how unreliable google places really is. Why are you encouraging your clients to waste their valuable time????

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: Google Places: An SMBs Perspective

I agree Stan and hear your frustration. Have seen some of your posts and know what a struggle it's been.

If you want to suck up to Google Places, OK. But don't deceive business owners into thinking they are responsive.