Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,853
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

    As we know, once a G+ Local page has been merged, we are not supposed to make any more edits in the Google Places Dashboard.

    I have a client who accidentally triggered a verification for a merged listing in the Places Dash. They don't seem to know how this happened.

    What are your thoughts on this? Would it do more harm than good to verify it in the Places Dash since it has already been merged?
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  2. #2
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,021
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    41

    Re: Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

    Quote Originally Posted by Colan Nielsen View Post
    What are your thoughts on this? Would it do more harm than good to verify it in the Places Dash since it has already been merged?
    Sorry don't understand. If it's already been verified in Places dash, why do you need to do it again? I mean what is the reason for re-verifying?
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here...
    Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else.
    We appreciate you!


    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  3. #3
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,853
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Re: Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

    Hi Linda,

    The verification was triggered by "accident". So now in the dashboard, it's :

    Needs Action
    Not yet published
    Verify ownership


    So, I'm thinking it might do more harm than good to verify it, since it's already been merged with the G+ Business page, and the Places dash shouldn't be messed with once merged.



    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  4. #4
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,021
    Thanks (Received)
    36
    Likes (Received)
    41

    Re: Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

    Wait, I thought this was the one you asked me about via PM.

    I guess I'm confused or took it wrong. Color coding to try to help make sense.

    I THOUGHT you meant they accidentally triggered verification in G+ which caused a merge. (That's what I thought you were saying via PM yesterday.)

    Then thought you were asking if on top of that you should ALSO re-verify in dash. So I wondered why you'd even want to re-verify in dash.


    But now it sounds like you were saying the listing was already merged and they triggered re-verification in dash??? How did they even do that? Why were they in dash? Did they try to edit NAP or something?
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here...
    Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else.
    We appreciate you!


    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  5. #5
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,853
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    10

    Re: Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

    Quote Originally Posted by Linda Buquet View Post
    But now it sounds like you were saying the listing was already merged and they triggered re-verification in dash??? How did they even do that? Why were they in dash? Did they try to edit NAP or something?
    Let's just say it was an EPIC FAIL that caused this.
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •