Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    211
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Changing Search Location

    There used to be a place in google where you could change your location ...so if i am in town B but want results as if i were in town C i would enter town C. I dont see it anymore...can anyone please confirm that is no longer available...or am i looking in the wrong place?
    Thanks!
    Shonda

  2. #2
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    2,857
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: Changing Search Location

    Hi Shonda,

    Here's where I see it in Canada:

    Name:  choose location.png
Views: 143
Size:  59.6 KB

    ---------- Post Merged at 02:36 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 02:34 PM ----------

    I use the AdWords preview tool as well:

    Name:  choose location2.png
Views: 126
Size:  31.1 KB
    Colan Nielsen l GMB Top Contributor
    Vice President, Local Search at Sterling Sky
    Connect on Google + and Twitter

  3. #3
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,064
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    50

    Re: Changing Search Location

    Yep that's where it is in US too. Thanks Colan!
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  4. #4
    Member Since
    Jan 2013
    Location
    St. Paul, MN
    Posts
    83
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    Another place to find it is by clicking the gear icon in the top right corner. If not signed in, you will have to do a quick search first before the gear icon appears. I thought Google had removed it too, but they only made it harder to find.

    Name:  11.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  17.7 KB

    Name:  111.jpg
Views: 151
Size:  29.5 KB

  5. #5
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    211
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    perfect! thanks so much!!!

  6. #6
    Member Since
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    341
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    You should also be able to override your local search location by appending "IN City, State" to the end of your search string. I haven't checked recently but it appears to give the same SERPs as if I manually changed locations in the search options.

  7. #7
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    363
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    Just on a slight side note, this is why local rank tracking is so difficult nowadays. I actually live in the centre of my city, but for some reason, Google grabs my location for searches as a neighbouring city (about 20 miles away).

    Does anyone know why this happens? - Is it to do with the server location or something?

    It doesen't effect my own rank tracking as I use "Places Scout" that manually tracks the location for each client.
    Nicholas Pratt | Director | Add me on Google+
    SEO Spark



  8. #8
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    North Attleboro, MA
    Posts
    1,110
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    @Shonda

    I'm also still seeing the "Search location" button just fine here in Taxachusetts. The only place I don't see it is in iOS, though maybe there's a way to change it that I just haven't found.

  9. #9
    Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    114
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Changing Search Location

    @Andrew - it dosent work all the times, working or not depends on keywords and niche

    ---------- Post Merged at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 07:44 PM ----------

    @Nick - we have identified that Google IP Location DB has over 20% records different than official ISP providers DB ( Ripe & Arin ), most probably this is why you get the wrong location

    ------

    changing location from the GUI might work in most of the cases for the organic results, but for advertisers many times fails depending on how the AdWords campaigns were configured.
    GeoRanker - Local SEO Analysis Platform. Got any question? #AskSergiuD - by Twitter

Similar Threads

  1. Business changing location & Google+ Local
    By geoseo in forum Help & Support for Google Local
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •