More threads by D37

D37

Reaction score
Hey just wanted to say that I'm super happy to have found this forum. There seems to be a ton of great information on Google Plus Local. I look forward to learning from one another.

I'm new to ranking maps listings and was wondering a few things:

- How long on average does it take for a brand new business to rank in Google Plus Local's top 7 listings?

- Do you recommend any good plan / training that will give me a step-by-step guide on how to rank a brand new business in organic and Google Plus Local well?

- Is it best to get a whole bunch of citations first before you try and claim a listing?

Hey just wanted to say that I'm super happy to have found this forum. There seems to be a ton of great information on Google Plus Local. I look forward to learning from one another.

Hey D37, welcome and glad you are finding the info helpful!

I'll try to answer your Qs below. (My answers in blue.)

I'm new to ranking maps listings and was wondering a few things:

- How long on average does it take for a brand new business to rank in Google Plus Local's top 7 listings?

For a new listing to even show up at all in KW searches can take about 6 weeks because it takes time to work into the local database.

Then to get to 7 pack depends on a TON of factors. Competition for one. But just setting up a G+L page won't usually get a listing on page 1 for even semi competitive terms. Even with lots of citations. Because for most core keywords Google uses the blended algo. And in that algo the ranking order is 90% based on ORGANIC ranking factors. So you'll even see unclaimed listings rank A. That's because of the strength of the web site.

There are in my estimation over 300 factors that go into the blended algo. Just claiming and even well optimizing the G+L page is one small part of the puzzle these days.