Accidentally Triggered a Google Places Verification After Listing Has Been Merged

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,266
As we know, once a G+ Local page has been merged, we are not supposed to make any more edits in the Google Places Dashboard.

I have a client who accidentally triggered a verification for a merged listing in the Places Dash. They don't seem to know how this happened.

What are your thoughts on this? Would it do more harm than good to verify it in the Places Dash since it has already been merged?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,307
What are your thoughts on this? Would it do more harm than good to verify it in the Places Dash since it has already been merged?
Sorry don't understand. If it's already been verified in Places dash, why do you need to do it again? I mean what is the reason for re-verifying?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,307
Wait, I thought this was the one you asked me about via PM.

I guess I'm confused or took it wrong. Color coding to try to help make sense.

I THOUGHT you meant they accidentally triggered verification in G+ which caused a merge. (That's what I thought you were saying via PM yesterday.)

Then thought you were asking if on top of that you should ALSO re-verify in dash. So I wondered why you'd even want to re-verify in dash.


But now it sounds like you were saying the listing was already merged and they triggered re-verification in dash??? How did they even do that? Why were they in dash? Did they try to edit NAP or something?
 
Top