Changing Search Location

Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
131
There used to be a place in google where you could change your location ...so if i am in town B but want results as if i were in town C i would enter town C. I dont see it anymore...can anyone please confirm that is no longer available...or am i looking in the wrong place?
Thanks!
Shonda
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,172
Hi Shonda,

Here's where I see it in Canada:

choose location.png

---------- Post Merged at 02:36 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 02:34 PM ----------

I use the AdWords preview tool as well:

choose location2.png



 

a11c

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
75
Another place to find it is by clicking the gear icon in the top right corner. If not signed in, you will have to do a quick search first before the gear icon appears. I thought Google had removed it too, but they only made it harder to find.

11.jpg

111.jpg



 
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
334
You should also be able to override your local search location by appending "IN City, State" to the end of your search string. I haven't checked recently but it appears to give the same SERPs as if I manually changed locations in the search options.
 

Nick.SEOSpark

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
361
Just on a slight side note, this is why local rank tracking is so difficult nowadays. I actually live in the centre of my city, but for some reason, Google grabs my location for searches as a neighbouring city (about 20 miles away).

Does anyone know why this happens? - Is it to do with the server location or something? :confused:

It doesen't effect my own rank tracking as I use "Places Scout" that manually tracks the location for each client.
 

Phil Rozek

Local Search Expert
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
1,522
@Shonda

I'm also still seeing the "Search location" button just fine here in Taxachusetts. The only place I don't see it is in iOS, though maybe there's a way to change it that I just haven't found.
 

sergiuliano

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
107
@Andrew - it dosent work all the times, working or not depends on keywords and niche

---------- Post Merged at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous Post was at 07:44 PM ----------

@Nick - we have identified that Google IP Location DB has over 20% records different than official ISP providers DB ( Ripe & Arin ), most probably this is why you get the wrong location

------

changing location from the GUI might work in most of the cases for the organic results, but for advertisers many times fails depending on how the AdWords campaigns were configured.
 

Trending: Most Viewed

Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top