Deleted duplicates show as "Permanently closed"


Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
959
Likes
260
No, that's showing as intended. Google does not remove pages anymore (they made that announcement a little while ago), but instead marks the page as "Permanently Closed."

If this was a duplicate, then it should be merged into the correct page. If the business relocated, then it's not actually a duplicate and the closed notice is correct. That page would only show for branded searches, not general queries so as long as you have the correct location optimized you should be ok.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
9
Likes
1
I had the same problem. The duplicate profile didn't merge, was marked as "permanently closed" and came up in the results instead of the open location profile associated with the account. It only got resolved by calling support.
RH
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
14,436
Likes
4,290
No, that's showing as intended. Google does not remove pages anymore (they made that announcement a little while ago), but instead marks the page as "Permanently Closed."

If this was a duplicate, then it should be merged into the correct page. If the business relocated, then it's not actually a duplicate and the closed notice is correct. That page would only show for branded searches, not general queries so as long as you have the correct location optimized you should be ok.
Thanks Eric! Wish we could mark a best answer here. I would have done that on your post! :)
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2012
Messages
959
Likes
260
I've answered that same question so many times that's become my default response :D

True duplicates are an issue and should be merged, but old locations won't. If you're questioning what's a dupe and what's not... Yext put together a nice webinar explaining - follow this link to the thread

Hopefully that helps a little!
 

Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top