Do geositemap and kml files have to be in the root folder?

Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
277
I'm testing out a new hosting provider (managed WP hosting).

They don't allow access to the root folder of the domain- so I can't add the geositemap and kml files to the main dir.

If I create a subfolder and place these files, will they still work?
 

Keenan Glass

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
218
Good question Chris. I think so. Are you sure there is no way to access the root folder where WP is installed?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
277
Nah. I'm trying out a new host- they specialize in managed WP hosting. They're called Flywheel Hosting.

Totally opposite of the big guys like HostGator and Godaddy.

I'm testing their service to see if it will save me time and headaches. Lately HostGator has had some major outages and they all the sudden decided to upgrade their server, so I had to scramble and update all of my clients' A records.

Managed WP hosting restricts their customers from using caching plugins, as well as backups like Backup Buddy (which worries me- it's one of my fav tools).

But they will take care of backups, malware protection, and update WP core.
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,307
If you have to put in subfolder use the trick I showed you in training for the KML file to help ensure Google finds it. I do that EVEN when it's in root. But if it's somewhere else I'd do for sure. (It's in the on-site SEO training.)

No point in even doing KML unless you take the extra steps to be sure you help her find it IMO. :p
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
277
HostGator has pooped the bed lately with their outages.

I've also noticed slow load times for a number of client sites.
 

JoshuaMackens

Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,830
Are you sure it's their problem with the slow load times? Did you diagnose with a speed test or anything?

Also, what hosting plan were you on with them?
 
Top