Do URLs change after Merge?


joematibag

Forum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
3
Likes
0
Hi Y'all,

I have a client that had a Verified Place Page at https://plus.google.com/113539015725889121996/about.

Now, when you click on https://plus.google.com/113539015725889121996/about, you are redirected to https://plus.google.com/102772343371833848419/posts. Note the change in the URL.

https://plus.google.com/102772343371833848419/posts looks to me like a Verified Merged page: it has a verification checkmark, a visitor can can review this page, and it has red Follow button. It also looks like the Reviews that were on the original page show up on the new page, but some Postings are no longer visible.

How concerned should I be that this redirection happened and that you are now sent to a new URL?

Thanks, Joe
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
1,023
Likes
300
I know it's Friday and maybe I'm loopy, but those are all the same page. If you mean why does Google send people to the posts page when clicking from a SERP and not the About page, that's been discussed a bunch.

G+ Local Custom URL Conundrum to be Aware of

I think we are all in agreement that Google should be pointing users to the About page, but for now, he who has the gold.....

Is that what you meant?
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,010
Likes
1,015
Hey Guys,

Yes, when you upgrade a G+ Local (Google Places) page to a Local G+ Page with the social bells and whistles the URL changes.

The former URL will forward to the new URL.

I don't think you need to be concerned about it at all.
 

joematibag

Forum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2013
Messages
3
Likes
0
Hi Rawly and Colan,

Thanks for your replies.

Rawly,
Sorry for the confusion, but I wasn't referring to About versus Posts. I was referring to https://plus.google.com/113539015725889121996 versus https://plus.google.com/102772343371833848419.

Colan,
Thanks for your reply. Seeing as URLs change during the upgrade, I can sleep better now :)

Thanks again, Joe
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,010
Likes
1,015
Colan,
Thanks for your reply. Seeing as URLs change during the upgrade, I can sleep better now :)

Thanks again, Joe
The only issue I've seen with this, and it was only once or twice, was a page that we upgraded and then the MapMaker history for the "new" listing went blank.

So essentially the listing started over from scratch and it lost it's "history". Fringe case, but probably worth checking Map Maker whenever you upgrade a page.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2013
Messages
90
Likes
35
Hey Guys,

Yes, when you upgrade a G+ Local (Google Places) page to a Local G+ Page with the social bells and whistles the URL changes.

The former URL will forward to the new URL.

I don't think you need to be concerned about it at all.
This is what I have always seen happen. Seems to work just fine.
 

Similar threads


Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top