GMB Duplicate Nightmare


Devon Grey

Forum Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2018
Messages
6
Likes
0
Wondering if anyone has experienced this lovely scenario before:

Client comes to me asking to help set up/manage their yext account (client purchased this account on their own). A few days later, we receive notification that the subscription has been cancelled and refunded.

Turns out, Client's previous marketing company already created a Yext profile on Client's behalf (without Client's knowledge) AND said Yext profile seems to have created & verified a new GMB profile, despite the fact that the client already had an existing verified GMB profile (dashboard now shows the original one as duplicate/unpublished)

have been going back and forth with Yext and the previous marketing company for about a month to either transfer/deactivate the old account, but according to Yext, the only way to do this is to have the previous marketing company voluntarily cancel their account.

Initially the other marketing company said they would help facilitate this but have stopped responding for the past few weeks, and Yext keeps saying the only thing we can do is contact the other company.

Wondering what's the best way to deal with the GMB accounts in this mixup?
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
2,896
Likes
881
Hey Devon,

Can you confirm if there is a physical duplicate listing? In other words, are there actually two listings now or did you just get the "duplicate" notification in GMB and lose access to the one listing.

If you are able to share the business NAP that would help us troubleshoot for you.

Thanks
 

charkins

Forum Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2013
Messages
10
Likes
3
What's in the contract for the client and prior company? There are usually clauses around who has the IP to accounts created on a client's behalf. (If so, then a C&D letter may get their attention.)
 

Cherie Dickey

Local Search Expert
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
124
Likes
74
Have you or your client begun the ownership request process with Google support? Third parties are not allowed to withhold access of a GBL from the business owner. Here's the third party policy: Google My Business third party policies - Google My Business Help

In many cases, the third party will just ignore the email they get from Google, or will release the listing. Either way, you will be given the opportunity to reverify the listing. Once you have access, you can then request a merge from support (if true duplicates actually exist).
 

JoshuaMackens

Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,374
Likes
245
Hey Devon,

Can you confirm if there is a physical duplicate listing? In other words, are there actually two listings now or did you just get the "duplicate" notification in GMB and lose access to the one listing.

If you are able to share the business NAP that would help us troubleshoot for you.

Thanks
This.
 

Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top