New Feature - Claim This Business (But My Listing Is Already Claimed?)

CarrieHill

Administrator
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
75
Elizabeth Linder of Kick Point pointed out a link on a claimed Google Business Listing that said "Own This Business? Claim it now."

Krystal Taing - A GMB Gold Product Expert replied that this was a new feature that makes it easier for business owners to get access to a business listing that they may have lost their logins for - or the logins may have belonged to a former employee.

own this biz.png


Are you seeing this? Have you used the process to regain access to your listing? We'd love to hear if the process was smooth or bumpy.
 
Last edited:

Norbert Z.

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2019
Messages
29
This function appears when you are not logged in to a Google account and when the owner is actually lost, you can take over such a company, I did so over a year ago, filled out the form, entered a message from the phone number and had access to GMB. I did this because I took over the company from a man who did not have access to GMB. Sorry for my english.
 

JoyHawkins

Administrator
Administrator
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
3,482
@Norbert Z. this change is slightly different. Now it shows up even if the listing is already claimed by someone else. It's caused a bit of confusion.

I just realized though that you can see if a listing is verified or not by using an Incognito tab. If the "Own this business" shows up while you're logged out, it means the listing is unverified.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
117
I just realized though that you can see if a listing is verified or not by using an Incognito tab. If the "Own this business" shows up while you're logged out, it means the listing is unverified.
So if you're logged in, you won't be able to tell if the listing is claimed or unclaimed and you'll need to use an Incognito tab? Seems like a needless update on Google's part but thank you for the workaround; identifying if a listing is claimed or unclaimed is always important info when working with a new client.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
117
you can see if a listing is verified or not by using an Incognito tab. If the "Own this business" shows up while you're logged out, it means the listing is unverified.
Update on this: it's now showing the "own this business" label even if I am in Incognito and not logged in to any Google account. I tested on some of my clients I 100% know are claimed in my dashboard and it's showing the "own this business" label regardless of whether we're logged in, incognito/non-incognito, Firefox, Chrome, etc. It seems to be showing it all the time now at least in some cases.

Don't know if you have found any other workarounds or if this is just something we'll have to deal with going forward. Very annoying on SAB listings especially as you don't know if it is claimed or unclaimed until after you've completed verification and been marked duplicate or not.
 

Nikki Stine

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
50
Well this is irritating. In my limited testing, I noticed if you click on the "Own this business?" link and it is already verified, it tells you that. So perhaps that's the way to figure it out.
 

Dimitri

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
4
Hi all! New here :)

I spoke to Google on this and the way to see if a listing is verified is to view it in Maps. If you see the "own this business" or "claim this business" in the maps view then it has not been claimed. As mentioned above, all listings seen in Search view will have the "own this business" link as a way for business owners to claim them more easily. I have attached two screenshots that show this...

Screenshot 2020-03-04 at 11.07.33 AM.png


Screenshot 2020-03-04 at 11.07.17 AM.png
 

Kyle Bailey

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2020
Messages
1
Elizabeth Linder of Kick Point pointed out a link on a claimed Google Business Listing that said "Own This Business? Claim it now."

Krystal Taing - A GMB Gold Product Expert replied that this was a new feature that makes it easier for business owners to get access to a business listing that they may have lost their logins for - or the logins may have belonged to a former employee.

own this biz.png


Are you seeing this? Have you used the process to regain access to your listing? We'd love to hear if the process was smooth or bumpy.
I am seeing this on properties that are owned and verified, even if I'm looking at it in incognito. Thoughts? Could it be bc of Covid?
 

Jac

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
69
Many businesses/even big listings are turned unverified after google suspended reviews and other GMB features.
 

Weekly Digest

Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe

Trending: Most Viewed

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...

  Local University Guide

Google Product Exert


Top