New G+ Local Listing via new dashboard created G+ Page, now have 2 pages... merge?


russofford

Forum Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
130
Likes
25
So,

I created a new G+ Local listing via the new dashboard... but I did not expect it to automatically create a new G+ Page for the listing at the same time.

G+ Local Listing:
https://plus.google.com/112890734838934998669/about
G+ Page:
https://plus.google.com/b/112890734838934998669/112890734838934998669/about


We already had an existing page, which I was planning on merging with the Local listing at some point down the road. But it looks like a wrench was thrown in that plan!

https://plus.google.com/107342915986571443113/posts

Can I still merge that page... or would it need to be deleted to avoid having 2? (And loose all the work done on the other page?

Can I delete the page that was auto-created by Google Local instead, then merge the old page with the Local Listing?

Thanks,

Russ
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
2,966
Likes
961
Hey Russ,

Do you recall if you created this page in the "Local Business or Place" category - https://plus.google.com/107342915986571443113/posts

From what I can tell, it doesn't look like it was, and unfortunately only G+ Business pages that are created in the local business category are eligible to be merged with the G+ Local (places) page.
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
14,436
Likes
4,290
Colan is right that business page is not set up in local category. You can't merge it or change it so it merges.

I created a new G+ Local listing via the new dashboard... but I did not expect it to automatically create a new G+ Page for the listing at the same time.

G+ Local Listing:
https://plus.google.com/112890734838934998669/about
G+ Page:
https://plus.google.com/b/112890734838934998669/112890734838934998669/about
I think this is some confusion. The 2 links above are the same listing. It's a single merged (or in this case upgraded by Google) Local G+ Business page. Look at the # in the URL it's the same.

Can I delete the page that was auto-created by Google Local instead, then merge the old page with the Local Listing?
You created a G+ Local page and Google updated it to a G+ business page. It's not 2 separate listings it's one. So if you delete the G+ page it will delete the G+ Local listing that's in the Places dash as well.
 

russofford

Forum Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
130
Likes
25
Ah ha...

If I am logged in to my Google account where I created the listing, this URL shows a different page:
https://plus.google.com/b/112890734838934998669/112890734838934998669/about

Notice the /b/ and double CID in the URL



When I am logged in I can see a separate page with a 'Reviews' tab such as:

About Posts Photos Videos Reviews

When I am logged out I am redirected to the main Local listing page (and can't see the URL with the /b/ in it) and get a different menu, too such as:



About Posts Photos Videos

I guess I assumed that there was a 'listing' and a 'page' at the same time or something.

...

One can navigate to the page with the /b/ in the URL when they are logged in to the dashboard and choose the 'Google+ page' menu item on the left hand side.



Meh.

Russ
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
2,966
Likes
961

Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top