New GMB Duplicate Move Process?


JoshuaMackens

Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,501
Likes
311
GMB used to merge an old listing location into the main listing location if the listing had moved. It was basically a merge with a 302 redirect if I'm not mistaken.

I got this from Twitter today:


They're now leaving the old listing up.

Is this how you guys have been seeing this handled lately?
 
Last edited:

JoshuaMackens

Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
1,501
Likes
311
Hey @JoshuaMackens Yes I am seeing more and more cases where support is "moving" a listing according to them but actually applying the closed tag.
Did you just accept it and let it go? It seems like it could have ranking implications with a "permanently closed" listing out there and also no ranking boost from the merged profiles?

Also, this seems like a silly way to handle this? What benefit is there to Google to change it to this?
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,020
Likes
1,023
Depending on the scenario I have accepted it. Not always worthwhile to push back (but sometimes is worthwhile).

The inconsistencies arise from inconsistent training of the GMB support reps across the various teams and countries they operate out of. Also, some support reps play things purely by the books while others are willing to work outside of the box to figure out the best solution to a problem.
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,020
Likes
1,023
Sometimes, yes. Or sometimes I'll wait and try for a different support rep if I feel they aren't getting it.
 

Similar threads


Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top