"Remove" or "Permanently Close"

Mmclean07

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
12
Hi guys,

I have a client who works with financial representatives and has traditionally marked their profiles as "permanently closed" whenever one of their representatives is fired, quits, retires, etc. However, sometimes a new representative takes over that office space and the "closed" listing gets rank when the new representative should, or they don't want their brand on that representative anymore. So, I want to completely remove the profile.

I understand Google says when you "Remove" the listing from your management it will still show up on SERPs, however, I have done this a few times and have not seen the listing show up anywhere after removing it. It appears that removing it actually completely deleted the profile, which was my goal. I am wondering if this may be because the listing was marked as permanently closed before I removed it.

Do you find removing the profile will delete the listing, or does it need to be marked permanently closed for some time before removing it to completely delete it? Is there a better way to handle completely deleting the profile?

Thanks all!
 
Last edited:

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,536
Hey @Mmclean07

Depending on the specific scenario (retired vs left to work somewhere else...etc) there are different paths you can take. If they retire Google’s default for this is to mark the listing as closed. However, as of May 2019, if you specifically ask GMB support to remove the listing, they will do so. Same thing if the person is deceased.

If they no longer work there, and don't work at a new location, you would need to mark the listing as closed. This might not be ideal because it means that someone searching for that practitioner might think your business is closed due to the permanently closed label.

If they work at a new location nd the practitioner doesn’t have a listing at his/her new office yet, you can simply update the listing so it lists the correct information. This means someone searching for the practitioner by name would see where they currently work. This is what Google to happen wants since the practitioner page belongs to the person, not the company they work for. Similarly, Google wants searches for that person to bring up accurate information for that person – not the place they used to work.

If the practitioner has already created a new page at their new place of work, you can contact Google My Business and ask them to mark the listing at your address as moved to that new listing.
 

Mmclean07

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
12
Hey @Mmclean07

Depending on the specific scenario (retired vs left to work somewhere else...etc) there are different paths you can take. If they retire Google’s default for this is to mark the listing as closed. However, as of May 2019, if you specifically ask GMB support to remove the listing, they will do so. Same thing if the person is deceased.

If they no longer work there, and don't work at a new location, you would need to mark the listing as closed. This might not be ideal because it means that someone searching for that practitioner might think your business is closed due to the permanently closed label.

If they work at a new location nd the practitioner doesn’t have a listing at his/her new office yet, you can simply update the listing so it lists the correct information. This means someone searching for the practitioner by name would see where they currently work. This is what Google to happen wants since the practitioner page belongs to the person, not the company they work for. Similarly, Google wants searches for that person to bring up accurate information for that person – not the place they used to work.

If the practitioner has already created a new page at their new place of work, you can contact Google My Business and ask them to mark the listing at your address as moved to that new listing.
Thanks for the insight, @Colan Nielsen! Much appreciated.
 

Weekly Digest

Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...

  Local University Guide

Google Product Exert


Top