More threads by Contractor

Contractor

Reaction score
I am a plumber and would like to do some spam fighting of other local plumbers, and I have some questions. I have been reading here and linked blog articles, but am still confused.

I have a very old Google/Gmail account that I use for everything: my business, GMB, and also personal (I am a Local Guide). Am I risking anything by suggesting edits of other businesses or filing Redressal Form complaints? I do not want it to seem like I am attacking other businesses for my own gain. I also don’t want it to seem like some type of spam if I report 40 listings. So should I use a different account?

Second, what should I do about all of the plumbing companies that are based out of their house yet still show their address in their Google listing? I have reported some via Suggest an Edit > Remove This Place > Private Place or Home. The ones that haven’t been claimed have disappeared. But the listings that have been claimed remain. I’ve only done that with a few for now, I wanted to get more info before continuing.

Should I use the Redressal Form for this? It seems to be for malicious activity, I am not sure if this applies. What do you think?

As far as your account goes, be careful with your main account. If the edits do not get applied enough or Google thinks you are a spammer, your account can be hit, so build trust in a new account if you are worried about that.

Regarding those that have the address showing. It is tricky, there are some privacy issues that are going on. I have had tremendous success in removing private residences that do not have signage, but not all the time. So, if they are not licensed businesses then fee free to redress them.

Hope that helps.

If I can piggyback on this, what does a spam business look like? What are some indicators that it is not legitimate? Thanks!