Undo a Listings Merge?

knowthegeek

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2020
Messages
2
Hello all,

I encountered a merge of two listings that I manage (lets call them Location A & B)- both of which had unique business names, suited addresses, unique phone numbers, different primary categories, URLs, etc, and I'm trying to determine why it happened and how it can be reversed.

What Google did was merge Location A into Location B. I know it is not a case of losing access to Location A because the 'View Original' link inside Location A's dashboard links to Location B. Also, Location A's cid redirects to Location B in SERPs.

With all of the fields in GMB being unique, why did Google suddenly merge the listings after both of them existed for several years? It just doesn't make sense provided there is so much egregious map spam out there and this is a totally legitimate business setup.

I attempted to reach out to GMB Support via Twitter, but an automated responses came back saying that their support channel is temporarily unavailable due to the pandemic. Is this something they would be able to reverse if they were available?

Thanks in advance.
 

keyserholiday

Administrator
Local Search Expert
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Jul 27, 2017
Messages
375
Is Location A still listed in your dashboard? Does it show as being marked as duplicate? From my experience, once a listing has been marked as a duplicate you can’t get Google to switch or reverse it. I am curious what caused them to take take action in the two listings and connect them to each other. Without knowing the business details, it’s hard to troubleshoot it.
 

Weekly Digest

Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe

Trending: Most Viewed

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...

  Local University Guide

Google Product Exert


Top