More threads by mfish

mfish

Reaction score
I'm a mortgage loan officer in Pennsylvania. I do have my local PA addresses listed in the footer of my website on every page and that's the address that's verified in my GBP. My website is on my own domain, separate from my company's corporate domain. I'm also working with Brightlocal to update my other citations in other directories to point to this local PA address as well.

The company I work for is located in AZ and for compliance purposes I do have to included their cooperate address in a disclaimer on every page of my website.

Will having the AZ address on my site hurt my local SEO efforts and "confuse" Google?

If it will, I don't want to do anything black hat, but is there any legitimate way to exclude Google from indexing just the corporate address portion on my site without being penalized? I thought about embedding the disclaimer text in an image but pretty sure Google has OCR that can extract this text: - https://cognitiveseo.com/blog/5909/did-google-read-text-image-can-affect-my-rankings/#:~:text=Yes!&text=Yes%2C%20Google%20can%20read%20embedded,it's%20doing%20it%20very%20well

Looks like there are some creative ways to do this, but the following info is dated and several of the comments state that this sort of "cloaking" is against Google's rules and best practices and could lead me to being penalized. See: Prevent search engines from indexing specific images on a page and Preventing robots from crawling specific part of a page

Thanks!

Solution