More threads by Medicareexpert

Reaction score
Hi:

I've been using Hostgator for about 5 years to host my website. I've always used the WP Optimized hosting package which didn't allow me to access their C-Panel to manage my website and domain. A couple of months ago, I spoke with one of their sale people who suggested I switch to their better Baby Plan which would allow me to access the C-Panel on their website. I paid for the Baby Plan the end of July and yesterday was also billed for the original WP Optimized package. I called them to cancel that package and 15 minutes later my website was removed from the internet. When I called them, I spoke to a "technical support" person who told me this happened because my Google Domain name servers were not pointing to Hostgator and I needed to contact Google to fix it. This explananation made no sense to me since I've had the Domain for years. She also said all my files were removed and I couldn't get them back. None of this made any sens, so I called back and spoke to another "technical support" person and was told a totally different explanation,. This person said that the reason my website was removed is because my files weren't transferred from the old hosting package to a new hosting package. However, she said they had my back-up and they could be restored if I signed an agreement that I would pay $50. She also said it would take 2-3 days. I signed the agreement but in protest, because I was never told by the person who sold me the new package that the files need to be moved from the previous hosting package to the new one, nor did the person who canceled the charge on the previous hosting package yesterday mention anything about my needing to move my files. The whole thing sound very fishy. Has anyone heard of this situation? If I switch to another hosting company, I will certainly lose all my files, right?

Attachments

• sign off on restoring files.pdf
    493.1 KB · Views: 190