GradeUs banner  below header new
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Since
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    31
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Hello all!
    I am not sure how to classify this: I was doing a search for “spaghetteria + aosta” (in Italy “spaghetteria” is the place to eat spaghetti and “aosta” is the location) and on the right I saw the knowledge panel for a specific business. I thought that probably that business was really well known in that area and it would make sense for Google to display that knowledge panel.

    I did another test with another city (Rome) and I got the same result (of course with a different business in the knowledge panel).

    I did a third test using the city I live in (Genova) and I got a knowledge panel of a place outside town, with no site, the business is not verified, there are no reviews, and there are no business info whatsoever in the panel. That got me thinking: could this be a bug of some sort? What do you guys think?

    Thank you

  2. GradeUs in thread
  3. #2
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,281
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    122

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Hi Elio and thanks for sharing.

    It sounds similar to the "one box" problem that we had a few years ago. Google appeared to be confused and think that if you searched for a generic term like "San Diego plumber" your intent was to find a specific business by that name. (Or usually very close.)

    Were the company names that popped up all very close to or exact matches for the search query?
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  4. #3
    Member Since
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    31
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Hi Linda,
    thank you for your answer.
    As a matter of fact yes (kind of).

    They all have in the name the keyword "Spaghetteria" followed by their name" (i.e "Spaghetteria Garibaldi" or "Antica Spaghetteria Francesco e Maria"..basically always something along those lines).

    Does this mean that I could coun this as some sort of bug?
    Thanks again!

  5. #4
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    17,281
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    122

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Not sure if it's exactly the same thing as I described. Then it was usually closer to an exact match to the query with both keyword and city in the name.

    So for example a search for San Diego Plumber might only pull up San Diego Plumbing & Heating.

    At any rate, I don't know if I would call it a bug exactly, in the case above. The algo was still trying to deliver the best answer, just got confused and thought you were looking for a specific business instead of a generic City + Keyword type of search.

    But in your case again it might be something else. Could be a bug of some kind I guess.
    Linda Buquet .:. Forum Founder, Google Local Specialist

    If you benefit from advice here... Please pay the community back by sharing on social OR helping someone else at the forum. Thank you!

    Don't Miss Important News & Tips! Subscribe to Daily Email Digest Here

    Note: Due to mulitple RSI injuries, pardon short replies. Typos? Blame it on "Dragon".

  6. #5
    Member Since
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    31
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Hello Linda,
    thanks again for your clarification. I'll keep this in mind
    Thanks!

  7. #6
    Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    1,714
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Did you notice this changed recently? Had you searched this in the past and seen a typical 3-pack?

  8. #7
    Member Since
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    31
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: Knowledge Panel: Appropriate or a Bug?

    Hey Joy,
    this is something I came across just last week, but I don’t know if the results were different in the past or these queries had always shown these results. As soon as I found out about this, I just wanted to get a better idea of what might have been going on there.

Similar Threads

  1. Knowledge Graph & Knowledge Panel Both Appearing in Search Results - Online Ownership
    By Local Search News Curator in forum RSS: Featured Local Search Blogs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2018, 10:51 AM
  2. Knowledge panel not showing for locations
    By Caroline in forum Local Search
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-12-2017, 01:24 PM
  3. Knowledge Panel Not Showing Hours
    By sarmcl in forum Local Search
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-14-2017, 09:25 AM
  4. Knowledge Panel No Longer Showing
    By Carleton Wilkins in forum Google Local
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-23-2016, 10:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GradeUs above footer new