More threads by Medicareexpert

Reaction score
Local Competitors Violating GBP Guidelines? Here's What You Can Do

I'm a health insurance agent and have a home office that clients sometimes visit. I also meet with them online and in their homes. Since I don't have permanent signage, Google told me I didn't qualify to use my home address in local search. Instead, Google told me to create a Service business profile. Now, my business does not show up on local search. My competitors use their home address and show up in local search. This is very upsetting since they are breaking the rules and getting away with it.

Sheri Bonelli, a Google My Business Gold Product Expert, wrote the above article, suggesting businesses fill out Suggest an Edit on Google Maps, Not Open to the Public. for competitors who are breaking the rules and running a Service business out of their home. It's eary to tell they are working out of their homes by searching for their address on Google Maps and Zooming in. I could see their home in a residential neighborhood. I followed her suggestions and submitted several edits, and in each case, Google denied my Edits. I'm wondering if I fill out the Business Redressal Form she recommends, will my information show up? Has anyone successfully tried this?

Solution
@Medicareexpert, to your earlier question / point about the guidelines, there are two separate issues: whether to use a home address, and (if you do) whether you hide it and instead set a service area on the GBP page.

In my experience, Google doesn't care whether you use your home address for an SAB, especially that's the only address you've got. Most of the time you won't run into issues if you create a GBP page that uses a home address, and neither will your competitors. (Proof of that is apparent every time you report a competitor's home-based SAB and Google ignores your request and keeps it on the map.