Google Switching Phone Numbers in GMB Listing


d2minc

Forum Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
16
Twice now I've had 3 clients (3 different industries) have their call tracking numbers removed in GMB.

I'm using this method to add call tracking numbers (502 area code - for both numbers):

[primary] = tracking number
[secondary] = main phone number (that's listed on the site)

Is there a way to tell if Google is making these updates or if they’re being updated by a random person (through Suggest An Edit)?

OR since they're "suggestions", is there a way to just reject the "suggested edits"- similar to what FB does?

I see this message in GMB when going in to edit the Info (“This location has updated information from Google users or other sources. Review these published updates to make sure that they're accurate.”).

Also FYI - When trying to update (when I used "copy/paste" I get error “Invalid Number” (tried multiple browsers) – when I typed in "manually", the updates were saved?). So just a heads up if anyone else is having a similar issue.
 

Tim Colling

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
965
I think I mentioned yesterday or the day before, we had one of these happen as well.

What I noticed about it this time was that the number that they wanted to change it TO is the same as the number in the GMB profile that is identified as their "AdWords location extensions phone"

Isn't THAT odd? :(
 

Tim Colling

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
965
They're BAAAAAACK...

Google once again sent email saying that they had edited a client's GMB record to "flip" the phone numbers in the listing to list the CTN second and the main land line first.

"Recent updates have been made to your listing
Help us keep the information on Google Search and Maps as accurate as possible for everyone."

Is this happening for others?
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,103
Hey Tim, yes we got a few of these notifications today as well.

Just out of curiosity are you using Call Rail or Call Tracking Metrics for your tracking numbers?
 

FriarTuck00

Forum Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
44
It happened again to me too. So far, just with one client but I expect to see more in the next few days.
 

JoyHawkins

Administrator
Joined
Jul 18, 2012
Messages
2,478
What I've noticed over the last 6 months is that it always happens to the exact same clients of ours (only a small number of them) and I'm really trying to figure out what the connection is.
 

FriarTuck00

Forum Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
44
What I've noticed over the last 6 months is that it always happens to the exact same clients of ours (only a small number of them) and I'm really trying to figure out what the connection is.
I've noticed that as well. It's not all of our clients, but just a handful. If you figure out a connection, please let us know.
 

Tim Colling

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Sep 3, 2014
Messages
965
It happened again today, to a client that it has happened to before. At least Google notifies us, so that we can repair the damage that they have done.
 

Similar threads


Local Search Forum


Weekly Digest
Subscribe/Unsubscribe


Google Product Exert

@LocalSearchLink

Join Our Facebook Group

Top